First named after one of its first owners, Clos Laville was acquired in 1928 by Frederic Woltner, owner of La Mission Haut-Brion, a neighbour of the famous Château Haut-Brion. Comprising a surface area of 2.5 hectares, the Clos Laville produced mainly white wine.
Château Laville Haut-Brion reigns over a vineyard composed of Sauvignon Blanc and Semillon.
Following this acquisition, this fine white Pessac-Léognan wine has taken on several names. Labelled as Château La Mission Haut-Brion Blanc as early as 1928, its name changed in 1934 to Château Laville Haut-Brion. This 2008 vintage is the last to be labelled as such, with this iconic white wine reverting to its original name of Château La Mission Haut-Brion Blanc in 2019.